There are laws, known as statutes of limitations, which dictate how soon you must file a workers’ compensation claim after suffering a workplace injury. The statutes of limitations governing workers’ compensation vary by state. In Florida, you must file your claim within two years of your injury or one year after the last date of received benefits.
The deadline for filing your claim is not the same as the deadline for notifying your employer of your injury. This timeframe also differs from one state to another. Under Florida law, you must report your injury to your employer within 30 days.
In some situations, you may feel hesitant to tell your employer about your injury. However, doing so is an essential part of obtaining benefits and other forms of compensation. Rest assured that there are laws in place to protect employees who report a work-related injury or illness from retaliation.
Both the statute of limitations and the deadline to notify your employer may change based on the nature of the injury. For example, you may have more time to act in the event of an occupational illness that developed slowly. With many occupational illnesses and diseases, affected employees may not know that something is wrong until a later date due to the delayed onset of symptoms.
At Kelleher Law, we can handle all aspects of your claim for you. Call us immediately to ensure that you are treated fairly by the insurance companies and that you get the full compensation you are owed. If your claim is denied, we can handle the appeals process.
Call Our Florida Workers’ Compensation Attorneys
It's important to act fast after a workplace injury. If you have questions about your ability to file a claim or the statute of limitations that apply to your situation, call Kelleher Law at 833-546-3675 for a free claim evaluation. We take calls 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Our experienced attorneys serve clients in Naples, Fort Myers, and Atlanta, GA, and the surrounding areas of Florida.